Tax filing: Hit and Miss

Standard

Hit:

– I used Turbo Tax free online tools to check my federal and state tax returns –> Got more refunds than I thought. Highly recommend this free service from Turbo Tax.

This year I sold stocks, so it was a little bit complicated but just a little bit. I used schedule D and form 8949. I also had to file 2 state taxes because I moved back to Cali last year. California’s tax is really high and complex comparing to New Mexico’s.

Miss:

-Did not max out 401k.

Good thing: My student loan has 40k left and my goal of 60k for down payment is reached. Time to look for a house.

So it is my short post for tax filing. And yes, I did it by myself with the assistance of Turbo Tax. So proud of myself. My mom is just done with 3rd round and she is doing well. I still worry a lot about next coming rounds. I have learned so much about life from this experience and my tie with my mom is stronger than ever. Thanks Rong Vang for your support, your guidance and your recommendation of Dalai Latma. Not a big fan of him before but I am now and will be in the future. Every day is already a gift.

Leave a Reply

