Money can’t buy happiness

Standard

I add one more thing to listen to in my weekly goals. It is “This American Life” from NPR. I have listened to this show on the radio for more than 3 years but on occasionally, not on a weekly basis. This post will be a reminder for myself that there are many other things in life more important than money.

As you can see, I have written lately about finance, how to get rich, how to save money, how to spend money, etc. Because I do not see my future in my current job, I am prepared for my second career. It is not because I hate my job as a pharmacist, but because I am afraid someday I will have to give it up due to malpractice lawsuits. Working in a retail setting has turned me into a filling machine. With an average 600 prescriptions on weekdays, there will be a chance that I can miss a medication error and cause harm to my patients. When getting out of school, I am excited to think that I will save lives. In reality, it is not always the case. There are many times I have self-doubt about my competency, but I will not quit until I have to. That day may never come, but I already set my mind for it.

However, when I learned about finance, I am afraid I will become greedy. Balzac said that behind every great fortune lies a crime. I do not think I will have a great fortune, but it is easy for people to only focus on making money rather than family, friends, and society. I remember there was a story on “This American Life” about a rich and successful physician who decided to go to Africa to help people after he was saved by a resident at Mount Kilimanjaro. He said sometimes he still missed beautiful clothes, car, and other luxury items in America but he now found himself as a part of African people. I remember there was a friend who tried to learn about criminal laws just to save his friend from a wrongful sentence because all the lawyers have given up on the case. There are so many amazing stories that just make your heart cry. People struggle everyday to pursue their happiness, and they get hurt in the process.

I hope you will like the show and learn that you are still happier than a lot, a lot of people.

This is an excerpt from their site:

“So usually we just say what we’re not. We’re not a news show or a talk show or a call-in show. We’re not really formatted like other radio shows at all. Instead, we do these stories that are like movies for radio. There are people in dramatic situations. Things happen to them. There are funny moments and emotional moments and—hopefully—moments where the people in the story say interesting, surprising things about it all. It has to be surprising. It has to be fun.”

One thought on “Money can’t buy happiness

  1. Sometimes money can help you find more happiness, Of course, you know what we can and can’t expect from it. Also, It ‘s true that more money can lead to more stress. To me, doing anything make me feel happy is my goal.

    I love this quote:
    “If you want to feel rich, just count the things you have that money can’t buy”

Leave a Reply

